Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

 

I thought it was a good idea at the time...

The end of the year is upon us already! Time sure does fly. I learned a lot about nail polish, nail care, and nail art in 2011. Throughout this year I have definitely stretched my imagination and skills as far as nail talent goes and I enjoyed it all.

Since learning isn’t without failures, there are plenty of nail looks I have attempted that just didn’t turn out right. Even though I didn’t document the majority of them, I do have some embarrassing pictorial evidence of nail looks that were horrible from the jump, or nail looks that were ok until I saw the pics of them that captured every flaw I didn’t notice at first.

There are also plenty of nail looks that I loved, but the pictures that I took didn’t turn out right. Either the lighting was off, or the “prop” idea I had just didn’t translate well.  One thing that I have learned is that just because a picture looks good initially, once I reduce it down to size, and insert into a post, it doesn’t always capture the essence and awesomeness (in my mind) of the original size. Because of that, a lot of post I had chosen to do got pushed aside.

So for every pic that I post, there are probably 100 or more pics that I had taken, and at least half of those got deleted, so that means that I have a plethora of nail pics on my computer. I decided it was the bench warmers time to shine, and that it’d be fun to look back and share what I deemed not up to par and didn’t make it this past year onto the pages of LacquerGlamour, for whatever reason.

So here we go in no particular order:

I liked this purple ombre look, but I didn't like the way any of the pics I took turned out.

I had just cut my nails before going to see the fam this summer, and I wanted to have a "fancier" look than just plain polish. I got compliments from folks at the airport, the fam, etc but something was just off. And I couldn't get any decent pics! It really did look better in person. I swear.

I wanted to try a different version of a nail look I saw on YT (forgot the original video), but once I saw the pics and saw how jagged and raggedy the white stripes were, I decided not to share.

Earlier this year I wanted to try the half-moon manicure, but put my little twist on it...

Okay, so never mind the fact that I have nail polish all over my fingers, what really irritated me about this look was that I couldn't do it on my right hand! I learned an important lesson that night: Make sure you can do on your right hand what you can do on your left, and start with the hardest hand first.

I wanted to use this gold glitter polish I had bought and never used, and thought I'd try a french manicure look. I didn't like it at all. Looked just blah.

Another french manicure looked I tried earlier in the year. I thought it looked great, and wore it for a week before I checked out the pics I took and saw how corny and sad it really was. Womp womp..

Just playing around with a different type of ombre look. It stayed on my nails all of five minutes.

One of my favorite water marbles, but after looking at the pics I saw all sorts of flaws and stuff.

Nothing serious here, just a pastel polish I had earlier in the year, and just never did anything with really.

Comments on: "A Look Back: LacquerGlamour Fails and Semi-Fails of 2011" (2)

  1. Lori Taylor said:

    Hey your pic with dark purple ……. BEAUTIFUL would love to find color please If you can help.

    • Thank you 🙂 I think you are referring to the ombre/gradient pic, right? If so, I used about 3 or 4 different colors to get that look and it was such a while ago I don’t I remember the names but I think I started with a dark pink and worked up to purple, with a sparkly purple on the tips.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

