Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

I’m trying to be more creative with my nails. Scouring various YouTube tutorials for inspiration has been very helpful and fun, and I decided to try and come up with my own nail look. It’s pretty basic. Nothing fancy, but it’s a start.

I’ve also decided to try my hand at pictorials, so here we go:

The products that I used for this look:

1.) After applying Revlons Quick Dry Base Coat and allowing it to dry, I applied two coats of Confetti Blue Bombshell.

2.) After my nails were completely dry, I took my L.A. Colors Art Deco Nail Art Lacquer in Black, and added two diagonal lines across my  nails.

3.) I then filled in the tip of the top corner of  my nail with Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Black Heart.

4.) After that completely dried, I took my tweezers and applied a diamond nail art decal to the corner of my  nail along the bottom line of the filled in tip.

5.) I continued adding decals until I reached the end of my nail, which took four decals. My pinky nails only needed three.

6.) I added my Nicole by O.P.I Top Coat Plus, and was done.*

After some trial and error, I picked up on some things:

  • Use good, pointed tip tweezers to pick up those nail art decals. My tweezers have thicker tips than normal, and it took several tries with each one.
  • Make sure that each coat of polish is completely dry, no matter what. Not just barely dry, but hardened.  Especially before adding those decals.
  • Kinda press down on the decals after each application to make sure that they are really sticking.
  •  Always apply a top coat when you are done applying all decals. It really secures them to your nails.

* In the products that I used picture,  I have Orly Sec N’ Dry Top Coat and I don’t mention using it. I did use it at one point to get the polish dry faster. If you notice in the first and last pics, some of the nails are chipped at the tip. I find that happens a lot when I use this top coat alone, so I decided not to include it in my instructions. I later added Nicole by O.P.I Top Coat Plus for extra protection. I could have simply retaken the pics, but I was too lazy!

LacquerGlamour

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

