Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

So if you ever see me out and about and catch me with my fingers pressed against my nose, sniffing my fingernails while wearing a savory and satisfied look across my face after each inhalation, do not be alarmed. I’m just hooked on the sweet smell of Revlons Fizz scented nail polish and needed a fix of that delicious scent.

Ok, so I probably wouldn’t do that in public, but best believe I sniff away when I’m at home.

Scented nail polish seemed so preteen/high schoolish when I first heard about it. Even though some had adult sounding names like Mattese Elites Tequila Sunrise and Apple Martini polish from this summer, I wasn’t that interested. I knew Revlon had a scented nail polish line too, but I didn’t pay much attention to it either, until a few months back when I was perusing the nail polish aisles at Rite-Aid.

I saw this very colorful Revlon display, that had sets of lip gloss and matching nail polishes with names like Grapefruit Fizz, Watermelon Fizz and Apple-Tini Fizz. I was intrigued by the bright colors, and the fruity sounding names, and the fact that they had flecks of glitter. After noticing that they were scented, my niece and I proceeded to smell all of the polishes.

I wasn’t impressed. It didn’t smell like anything but nail polish!

I bought Colada Fizz anyway cause I liked the pale blue color, and later purchased Pineapple Fizz. After trying it at home, I noticed that it did in fact have a scent. If I would have taken the time to read the bottle in the first place, I would have noticed that it said it is scented after it’s dry.

Pineapple Fizz

Colada Fizz

As you can see they are pretty sheer and transparent. I only applied two coats, though I’ve seen other reviews with a darker color after applying several more coats. I prefer to just layer them over darker polish.

So let me break these down for y’all.

Cost:

$4.79 @ Rite-Aid

Consistency:

Almost gel like. They apply pretty smoothly.

Dry Time:

One coat dries in two minutes. Two coats completely hardens in about eight minutes, so 10 minutes total.

Finish:

Smooth and glossy. The colors I purchased were very sheer. You could apply 3-4 coats, or as mentioned earlier layer them on top of other colors.

Wear Time:

I can’t honestly say because I did wear these with other polishes, but it lasted a good five days before changing polish and I saw no chips.

Scent

I have noticed that with one coat, the scent lasts about 2-3 days, and two coats 4-5 days. Pineapple Fizz vaguely reminded me of pineapple. It had more of a general sweetness to it, but not over bearing. Colada Fizz definitely reminded me of pina colada.

I wish I had of purchased all eight of them at that time, cause when I went back they were all gone. I asked the store clerk when they would be back in stock, and she told me they were promotional and probably wouldn’t.

Gammit.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

