Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

Now I have another way to recycle old newspaper. I saw this article on Bellasugar about newspaper manicures, and there was a link to a blog that they have on their site with a tutorial. Of course, I had to give it a try. It just looked like too much fun.

What I did was painted my nails with one coat of a grey color ( I had to mix a black and white color cause I did not have grey. I think white would work fine also though). I first tried dipping my nails in alcohol, then pressing the newspaper onto my  nails. Then I tried spraying a piece of newspaper with Victoria’s Secret body spray, then immediately pressing it onto my nails. I found that the latter worked better for me. It was actually pretty easy once I found the technique that I liked. Here is how I did it:

  1. Paint nails one coat of a grey or white nail polish.
  2. Allow to dry thoroughly. I waited an hour
  3. Cut 10 small strips of newspaper, a little longer and wider than your nails.
  4. Spray one strip thoroughly, then press onto your nails and hold for 15 seconds.
  5. Repeat with all nails.
  6. Apply topcoat.

That’s not so hard! I applied two coats of topcoat, one initially, then another a few days later. The manicure has lasted me six days, and still looking good. It’s the  longest I haven’t changed my nails in a while. I just loved it. I want to see how this will work using comic strips also. Will keep yall posted.

Products Used:

Newspaper

Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear White Out

Wet N’ Wild Wild Shine Black Creme

Sally Hansen Strengthening Topcoat

Comments on: "Fun and Easy Nail Look: Newspaper Manicure" (1)

  1. […] night – how awesome is this look?! I love it…. Check out ‘Lacquer Glamour’: https://lacquerglamour.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/fun-and-easy-nail-look-newspaper-manicure/ for the ‘how-to’ in achieving this look! Gotta try it sometime….but not sure this […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

