Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

I can be pretty lazy when it comes to aspects of manicuring other than applying nail color. Depending on the polish I’m using, I hardly ever use a topcoat (or a basecoat for that matter, but that’s another story). I’m sure nail techs all over are clutching their pearls at my disclosure. For me, it’s just not that serious.

My reasonings are various. Either I don’t intend on wearing the polish for more than a couple of days so there is no point. Or the polish seems to be so glossy and long-lasting and I’m lazy and there is no point. Or the polish claims to have a built-in topcoat (which always makes me feel like I’m doing something good for my nail environment) and there is no point.

Get the point?

There are times that I do choose to apply. Like when I know that I’m going to be wearing my polish for at least a week, especially if I’m in love with the color and I want it to look really glossy. I also do this with really cheap polishes. The ones that require about three coats to even look decent and chip within a day (I’m looking at you China Glaze!). I always wear a topcoat in the hopes that it will make the polish last beyond a few days before chipping.

It never does. Sigh.

Do you think a topcoat is a must?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

