Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

I have a new obsession. A favorite pastime that has been consuming every free moment I can find. It has spawned countless nail polish purchases and many long nights of practice. I’ve been hesitant to share, but I will always show the good, the bad, and the ugly. Besides, I like to keep track of my progress so I can look back and see how far I have come. So this is also somewhat of a “nail journal”, if you will.

A few weeks ago I discovered this amazing video from jemy1415 on Youtube. It is a watermarbling tutorial. For those of yall that don’t know what that is, basically you take a bowl of water, drop nail polish into the water in a bullseye pattern, make a design using an orange stick or toothpick, then dip your finger into the bowl, adhering the polish onto your nails. Voila! Watermarbled nails.

It is a messy process, but I think it’s fun.

After going through ounces (not really but close!) of nail polish remover, cotton balls, and nail polish, I picked up a few tricks. The video suggest taping your fingers so that you don’t make a mess. After a while, I just got impatient and stopped doing it. Please don’t. I did find that using cocoa butter or vaseline instead of tape works so much better, and you can just wipe it off. Either way, do something!

You should apply a base color to your nails that resembles the colors that you are using. I stopped putting a base color on mine after taking it off and starting over one too many times. As you will see in the pics, the finished polish look isn’t so vibrant, and some of it is actually translucent enough that you can seem my nails.

The way you put your finger in the water makes a difference also. If you just “dip” it in there, the look on your fingers isn’t going to look exactly as it does in the water. Placing your entire nail on tip of the polish, and then submerging it into water is better.

The last thing I learned is that you need to remove all of the polish from out of the water using a qtip or something before taking your fingers out. If you do not, all of the left over polish in the water will adhere to the nails again, and you will have a different look, with a paler version of the colors on top of the other ones.

So, don’t do like me and not follow the guidelines expressed in the video. If you watched it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

