Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

The nail polish was in the container when I opened it…..I swear.

I love ripe, sweet, juicy strawberries. They taste so good whether I’m eating them by hand, or slicing them up in a fruit salad, and especially after dipping them in melted chocolate. Mmmm, strawberries!

After I admired the finished look on my nails after applying “Omb!”, a brilliant red nail color from the Justin Bieber “One Less Lonely Girl” Collection from Nicole by O.P.I., I couldn’t help but think of the delicious red fruit.

It tasted as good as it looked.

The collection from Bieber has been around for a while, but this is my first time trying it.

I’ve been searching for a red nail polish to replace a now discontinued color I loved called Unforgettable Red from Maybelline Salon Expert Collection. (Mini rant: Maybelline had the BEST nail polish with their Salon Expert Nail Polish Collection and now it’s gone. The brush was amazing, the polish applied effortlessly, lasted for days, and didn’t need a topcoat. What the deal Maybelline? Why would they do that?! I’m still holding on to the bottle I bought back in Nov. 2007, savoring the last few drops for “special occassions” and that’s just sad).

Anyway!

Omb! is a vibrant red with a hint of glitter. There is something different about this than the original O.P.I. polishes that I’ve worn. I want to says it’s not as strong. I have used regular O.P.I. nail polish as a topcoat, due to the durability. O.P.I. polish adheres to the nails like none other. This polish wasn’t bad, but I could tell that it was different. When I first tried it out, I noticed that it started to chip a little bit after a day or so. I really liked the color and wanted to wear it a while, so I redid my nails and applied a topcoat. With the topcoat, I got a solid five days before I started to notice wear, and that was barely noticeable at the tips.

So let’s start with the pros and cons.

PROS:

  • It dries pretty fast.
  • Has a nice glossy finish.
  • Doesn’t cost too much.

CONS:

  • Needs a good topcoat to prevent chipping
  • Not much of a selection.
  • Takes a lot of nail polish remover to get completely off nails.

It’s a tie. The polish I tried, I love. The cons aren’t that substantial of a reason for me not to like it. This is probably one of my new fave’s. The con that would irritate me is the chipping part, cause I don’t always like to put on a topcoat, but everything else makes up for it.

 I’m gonna start a new rating system. 5 means that it is the absolute best, 1 being the absolute worse. Let’s hope I never have to use 0.

RATING: 4

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

