Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

I don’t know about yall, but were I live it’s been hot for a minute. Like yesterday was 93 degrees. Texas hot.  Shorts, summer dresses, tank tops, and flip flops have been in heavy rotation in my neck of the woods. Honestly, I can wear flip flops year round. When I lived in Oregon, folks bragged about wearing flip flops in the snow. I wore them through all the months of continuous rain.
That’s just how we rolled.
Since the boots have been pushed aside and the flip flops are back, it’s time to take a look at the feet. I really don’t like people touching my feet, so getting a pedicure isn’t for me. That doesn’t mean that I don’t take care of my feet on my own.
At home pedicures can be fun and simple. I’ll share my at home pedicure routine that I use to keep my feet looking sandal ready. Not trying to go out looking like Wendy Williams poor feet….(if you wanna relive that horror, click here at your own risk).
Wearing sandals and flip flops are hell on my feet, so I need to keep a pedicure routine that I can do at least once a week. I usually do this after a shower, after my feet are softened up. Easier to file and clip nails.

My supplies.

After my shower, I make sure that I have everything already set to go. I keep a damp washcloth, a foot file, nail file, toe nail clipper, and coconut oil ready. I sit and get comfortable, and get started.
  • I use my amazing foot file from Sally Hansen (can’t seem to find anymore and it’s a shame), starting with the heel of one foot, and working my way around my whole foot. I have problem spots on under my big toe, so I make sure everything is smooth. I use my damp towel to wipe away any excess and to keep my feet damp so that it is easier to file.
  • Next I take my nail clipper and clip my toe nails.
  • After that I take a nail file, and file my nails down. I once had an ex tell my that my toenails were “sharp and pointy”, even after clipping, so I’m paranoid about it.
  • Lastly, I take my damp towel and rub them over my feet once more before taking coconut oil and rubbing them all over my feet. If I’m applying nail polish to my toes, I apply the coconut oil after the polish has completely dried.
That’s it. Simple and to the point. Now I know that there may be more intricate and detailed ways to keep up your feet, but this works for me. How do yall keep up on your feet during warmer weather?
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

