Adding color and glamour to life, one nail at a time.

It’s one of those things were you really want to like something that you know you shouldn’t, but continually bump your head against the wall trying to make it work.

I have flip-flopped over this review for the past couple of months. I know it’s just nail polish, but I’m just torn and confused by this product. I’m having such ambivalent feelings about it, and I’m not sure that I have resolved them. I first purchased this product back in July, and had my mind made up about it within a day. I decided to revisit it a few months later and try to be more open-minded, and my mind did change a bit.

As the name implies, this product is marketed as a “Complete Salon Manicure”. According to their website that means that it contains:

5 Steps in 1 Bottle: Base Coat, Strengthener, Growth Treatment, Color and Top Coat      

With Vita-Care Technology for advanced wear, more shine, and nourishing care.

In my opinion that sounds like the perfect nail polish since it has everything you need (and then some) incorporated into it. However,  I also think that’s it’s downfall. I think that it is trying to do too much, and in the end you get a mediocre polish that doesn’t live up to it’s name.

The color I purchased this product in is called Calypso Blue.

Let me break it down for you:

COST:

6.48 @ Wal-Mart

CONSISTENCY:

Thick

DRY TIME:

One thing I didn’t like about this polish is that it takes forever to dry. One coat about three minutes, but that second coat takes FOREVER to dry completely. Like I don’t feel safe using my fingers for at least 20 minutes and even then it’s not completely safe.

FINISH:

Glossy.

WEAR TIME:

I never lasted more than three days with this polish. It began to wear away at the tips after one day.

These were my nails back in July. These were taken the day after I polished my nails, but less than 24 hours later.

These are the results from the beginning of this month.

The next day, not a full 24 hours.

Day 2, not a full 48 hours.

So this isn’t exactly a scientific study or comparison, but enough for me to realize that I wasn’t liking what I was seeing. I do want to say that I always paint over the tip of my nails with my polish.  I wasn’t doing anything extravagant with my hands either times like digging ditches or doing dishes, or anything that required my nails to be used frequently. Also, I do my nails in the evening, so I wasn’t running around all day after doing my nails.

Another issue: Not only was it wearing away quickly, but it stained my hands and nails more so than other polishes I have used, even darker ones.

Stepped outside so you can see the residual blue in the sunlight.

Stained fingers after removal.

This last issue that I’m still not 100% sure of, but did want to mention, is that my nails seemed to look stripped after using.

Not sure if you can tell how my nails look, but I only experienced it with this polish.

Even after all was said and done, I still didn’t completely hate this polish ( I still use occasionally for nail art).  I think that with a base and top coat, it would be perfection, but doesn’t that kind of defeat the purpose? I love that they have lots of classy colors to choose from, and some bold ones too. I really want to try some of the other polishes offered, but I can’t justify buying it if I have to apply a base and top coat just to make it workable.

Don’t be surprised if I’m showing off a new color from this line in the future though… I’m hard-headed like that. I still love you Sally Hansen!

Tentative Lacquerglamour verdict:

On a scale of 1-5, 1 being the best, and 5 being the worst, I give this a 2.

Comments on: "My Not -So- Humble Opinion: Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure" (2)

  1. And instead of feeling obligated to hang out with your family on
    Thanksgiving, you can just throw a Fourth
    of July barbecue with your friends. From clip in coloured streaks as seen on Katy
    Perry, to the ravishing red colours seen on hair chameleons such as
    Rhianna and Drew Barrymore, it’s super-seasonal to sport the brights trend on your head as well as your face and nails. Those who feel naked when their lips feel naked may prefer to play up their pout with a slick of bright fuschia, coral or red lipstick.

  2. I agree with everything you said, and being very impatient I could not bear the dry time problem. I found a solution … Sally Hansen’s InstaDry (in the red bottle in the treatment section). Works Great! You have to wait two minutes after applying the second coat then apply the InstaDry, and to my astonishment the manicure actually lasted two weeks.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

